PDA

View Full Version : Do you love your job?

Ollz
18th Jan 2009, 17:47
Hey, I'm in my 2nd year at college and am hoping to apply as an ATC. My Dad thinks I should get a degree in law first and then apply because he says being an ATC will probably wear me out and I'll hate the hours, and at least his way I'll have something to fall back on. Personally I think the hours sound good, but of course I've never worked shift work, so I was just hoping for some input about general job satisfaction and tiredness levels. There's only so much I can ascertain myself without experience.

Thanks a bunch,
Oli

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
18th Jan 2009, 17:59
I did it for 35+ years and loved every second of it. Shift work is a doddle once you get used to it..... and you get so much time off people will think you're unemployed (as happened to a colleague of mine at Heathrow).

ATCO1962
18th Jan 2009, 18:10
If you love aviation, then ATC is for you. I've been going for 27 years now and I've never had a day that I didn't want to go to work. In the early days, some of the personalities were a little....stunted, shall we say?...but those days are, for the most part, gone.

If you don't love aviation, don't waste your (and your trainer's) time.

Good luck.

ATCbabe
18th Jan 2009, 18:28
Hi Oli,

Your dad is right. Always have a back up plan because just getting accepted into the college is difficult and the course failure rate is (or was when I was there!!!) high.

If you are lucky enough to get through it all then the real life job is great, one of the best as far as job satisfaction is concerned. However there are a few downsides, the biggest being the shifts.

It's alright now thinking the hours sound ok and indeed it means you can avoid Tesco shopping on saturdays:ok: go to the bank during the week:ok: , wait in for deliveries etc,etc which are very difficult working 9 to 5.