PDA

View Full Version : Continue to destination with loss of one hydraulic system

davinchi
6th Jan 2009, 09:54
Hello,

I am quite new to the boeing 737NG. With a loss of hydraulic system A OR B would you continue to your destination or land at your departure airport? I am looking at this from a simulator point of view, on the line I would contact company. I also realise that shortly after take off with loss of B you would have to return to the airport of departure. My thinking is if I lost hydraulic system A I would be inclined to continue as this would burn off more fuel and lower your landing weight at the other end, which would be beneficial as you have no ground spoilers upon landing. My logic seems sound just posting to check that I have not missed something obvious.

BOAC
6th Jan 2009, 10:44
You need to be aware of where the fluid went and why the system failed too, but there is no need to 'return' to departure. While it may be the most sensible in terms of weather, fuel, maintenance etc etc, flight could perhaps continue either to destination or a more suitable diversion airfield if conditions are suitable. Obviously your max altitude is limited and drag is higher with the LEDs out so care is needed, and you are, unfortunately in 'uncharted territory' as far as the FMC fuel predictions are concerned, so it is back to a 'how-goze-it' chart on the back of that well-know fag packet. Likewise with sys A - there may be good reasons to 'return' - and not.