PDA

View Full Version : Brand new Wellington bomber?

alvin-sfc
24th Dec 2008, 12:20
Did anyone see that programme this morning about those guys who built a locomotive from scratch? It cost several million quid to complete. I got to thinking, would it be possible to build a brand new,airworthy, say, Wellington or Hampden or some other rare warbird.Dread to think what the cost would be.:eek: Any thoughts on this anybody?

Dop
24th Dec 2008, 13:17
Building a new steam locomotive from scratch might have been a wonderfully quixotic thing to do and I applaud them for it, but while I'm no expert I suspect that building an airworthy replica Wellington would be several orders of magnitude more complex, and not just from an engineering viewpoint!

I think it's one of those problems which may be solvable if the right amount of money and expertise are thrown at it - especially the money!

Still, it would be cool!

mr fish
24th Dec 2008, 13:19
got no pics but there are messerschitt 262s currently being built.
they have american engines thankfully, i seem to remember the jumos only ran for about fifteen hours before melting!!!
i also heard stories of fw190s with russian radials but i guess something as big as a wimpy would be out of the question:ok:

Dr Jekyll
24th Dec 2008, 14:46
It's perfectly possible in principle. A new build Vimy has been built after all.

Some of the recently 'restored' Spitfires are virtually new build. The issue with building totally from scratch is that it would cost as much as restoring an old one, but be worth much less once complete because it would be seen as an imitation.

This doesn't apply with the Me262 and FW190 because the originals are so scarce, like the Wellington in that respect. On the other hand those wealthy enough to buy them normally want something fun to fly so twin engined aircraft are never that popular. Much greater expense and less exciting.