PDA

View Full Version : ATPL....??

sarahvd88
22nd Sep 2008, 14:15
Hey

I am an aspiring pilot. I'll be going off to Australia in a month to train for my CPL.
I already have a Bachelors Degree in Aerospace technology, but since I'm a girl (Indian girl) I may have to stop flying someday so I will always have something to fall back into. Say a job in engineering or so.

And now for my questions?

1. After I get my CPL, how do I proceed?? How do I work towards my ATPL??

2. Most airlines need a type rating say Air Arabia needs at least 800 hrs on A320, so how do I work towards the type rating? Most airlines have some requirements when it comes to flying hours, how do I get those hours if no one hires me? (I know this question sounds odd/stupid but I can't help it I would appreciate if all my questions are answered)

3. Any ideas/helpful pointers on the flying scene in India?

I'll have more questions for sure, will post them as and when I remember them
Please help me. Any kind of information will be highly appreciated..!!

Thanks

Luke SkyToddler
22nd Sep 2008, 14:40
By the time you get halfway through flying school, you will have figured out the answers to most of your questions.

At the moment, the most likely scenario is that you will have to find your first flying job outside the M.E. and build up several thousand hours of airline time before you apply to any arabia based airlines. Unless you hold a GCC passport then it's almost impossible to walk out of flying school and into any kind of piloting employment over here.

Hopefully by the time you have completed your licence training, you will have also graduated off txt spk and learned to speak and write english like a professionally qualified adult. You'll be up against quite enough challenges as a minimum hours female pilot looking for a job in the middle east, you really don't want to present yourself as someone who has issues with basic illiteracy and maturity.

maverick_daeu
22nd Sep 2008, 15:57