View Full Version : B757/B767 Runway Approaches & Touchdowns

Badmachine
24th Aug 2008, 09:23
Are B757/B767 ILS landings only performed by auto-pilot or also manually?

Regarding air shows:

Are accurate manual B757/B767 near-airport approaches and landings (when runway is visible) performed without airport based navigation signals?

Can a consistent glidepath (10 miles distant for example) be established for a runway touchdown without ILS or other nav-aid or would constant adjustments become necessary?

Can B757s/B767s be manually centered properly over a runway without difficulty, without ILS guidance? (Air show fly-bys for example) Would excess speed increase the level of difficulty?

(If these questions seem "dumb", it's only because I am.)

:ooh: :D

Bullethead
24th Aug 2008, 09:49
G'day Badmachine,

I have been flying the B767 now for around 6 years. You asked the following questions, so here goes with the answers. By the way there are no 'dumb' questions, maybe dumb people who don't ask the questions they'd like to.

"Are B757/B767 ILS landings only performed by auto-pilot or also manually?"

ILS approaches can be either flown manually or coupled to an ILS through the autopilot. The landing off a coupled approach can be either an autoland or a manual landing. The landng from a manually flown approach is always hand flown.

"Regarding air shows:
Are accurate manual B757/B767 near-airport approaches and landings (when runway is visible) performed without airport based navigation signals?"

It is just as easy in B767, as in any other aeroplane, to visually fly an approach without the assistance of radio navigation aids. The radio aids are essential in bad weather though.

"Can a consistent glidepath (10 miles distant for example) be established for a runway touchdown without ILS or other nav-aid or would constant adjustments become necessary?"