View Full Version : How secure is the job position of being a pilot going to evolve over the years? pleas

nisbeat
16th Aug 2008, 02:10
We all know petrol prices are rising and companies are struggling
There have been alot of pilots amde redundant and companies have had to merge to keep on working
However even though all this is happening, stupidly flying is my dream and I am prepared to take the steps to get there.
The only problem is I am a high school student finishing off sixth form and i have been told by mum that being a pilot is a job of the past and that to try and get a job now due to the above factors will be extremely hard... what to do?... will it be harder in the future?
please can I get as many replies as possible that either will crush and burn my mums point of view or in fact will warn me of future problems
thank you all soo much
Alex

BYALPHAINDIA
16th Aug 2008, 03:02
It's any ones guess what will happen??

But, Try not to get 'disheartened' with all the 'Doom & Gloom'

Try and stay 'focused' on what you want in life.

We are only here once, So we have to make the most of our life.

If you want to be a pilot, Then go for it as much as you can.

Then if you sadly never make it, Then you can always take 2nd best and at least say to yourself 'well I tried my best'

Always best to have a plan B in life.

If plan A doesn't work, Plan B, Plan C and so on.

I wish you all the very best.:ok:

JCJ
16th Aug 2008, 06:51
Hey Alex,

I am in the same position as you except I have been in the workforce for some years and have an established career, which I am giving up to become a commercial pilot.

The recent woes of the airline industry have only made me more determined to be at the top of my game, and be the stand out trainee of the bunch. If new pilot positions become rare, I want to be there with the top performers!

Believe in yourself mate, and follow your dream.

Good luck with it.

azamat69
16th Aug 2008, 07:18
Hey Alex,