PDA

View Full Version : effect of weight and cruise level on performance

JulieFlyGal
12th Aug 2008, 06:42
I'm studying for my atpl aerodynamics exam and am confused about a few things.

1. As weight reduces due to fuel burn off, the aircraft can be flown at a slower mach no. to preserve the angle of attack that gives 1.32 Vimd (for max range cruise). True or False?

2. As weight reduces due to fuel burn off, the aircraft can climb to higher altitude and cruise at the same (constant) mach no. as before. True or False?

3. If 2 above is true, then will the aircraft be cruising at the optimum angle of attack that gives 1.32 Vimd for max range? Yes or No?

4. How does the higher altitude affect fuel flow (and thus SFC) when cruising at 1.32 Vimd? Increase or decrease?

The ATPL text I have waffles on too much in a confusing manner. Hope someone can give me a "keep it simple" answer. Thanks.

Intruder
12th Aug 2008, 11:10
1. True.

2. True.

3. Yes, assuming that is the company policy.

4. Decrease.

dream747
13th Aug 2008, 01:52
What is Vimd? I see Vimd and Vmd being used interchangeably, is Vimd = Vmd?

Also is there any particular reason for the jet's best range AOA to be at 1.32 Vimd and the props to be at Vimd only?

Thanks for any clarification!

hawk37
13th Aug 2008, 12:07
Vmd is velocity for minimum drag. I know not of Vimd, perhaps a typo.

An jet/turboprop best range is theoretically approximately 1.32 * Vmd (actually the fourth root of 3, then multiply by Vmd, if I remember correctly). This assumes a constant fuel flow and thrust as speed changes, which may be close for jet engines, less so though for turboprops.