PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft hire in Norfolk

Norfolk Newbie
13th Jul 2008, 12:49
Hi all, its been a while since I've posted, however I'm pleased to be able to say that I passed my skills test yesterday with 45 hours 55 minutes in my log book (prior to the test).

The original plan had been to start to look for a group at this point, however given the so called "credit crunch" I am not in a position to commit to the monthly spend at this time.

As a low hour pilot I want to keep my currency up and carry on learning. To this end can anyone recommend any schools with aircraft for hire at a reasonable cost (in Norfolk) - ideally looking for 2 seater and only for a couple of hours a month (about all the budget will stretch to). Costs is obviously the major factor here - given my limited experience, I'd rather have 1.5 hours in a tatty two seater than 45 minutes in an immaculate four seater.

Thanks!

Cusco
13th Jul 2008, 13:42
Whereabouts in Norfolk do you live?

Cusco

RTN11
13th Jul 2008, 14:37
I used to fly out of Norwich

Norwich School of flying has some pretty cheap PA-38s. The hourly rate is pretty reasonable, but they're quite slow so if you're actually planning to fly somewhere you'd be better off with a faster more expensive aircraft, It'll save you money in the long run. Call them on 01603403107

Anglia Flight or Anglia Air Centre (i get mixed up between the two) have a very cheap cessna. It's also an aerobat, so you could do a bit of aerobatics or advanced training if you want. I dont have the numbers for this place, but a quick search should find them.

I only flew out of Norwich, so not too sure where else would be good.

Norfolk Newbie
13th Jul 2008, 14:48
Whereabouts in Norfolk do you live?

About 5 miles to the north of Norwich, so Norfolk and north Suffolk are okay.