PDA

View Full Version : Question for Canadian students / pilots

m_cudin
8th Jul 2008, 09:12
Good Morning to everybody! My name's Marco, I'm an Italian private pilot, 26 years old, and I want to complete my training until an ATPL licence. Unfortunately here in Europe, and especially in Italy, flight schools are very expensive and the market is quite close, so Italian students have a very hard work to do if they want to become pilots!
But my question is this: I'm planning to move to USA to complete my training, maybe in a school that can give me also a JAA licence. Prices right now are very good over there, especially because of the low-value US dollar. But it's a long time that I'm thinking also to Canada, maybe because I have a lot of relatives of mine living over there, close to Toronto.
So, right now, here is the question: USA or CANADA? I know that it seems a big question and maybe quite stupid, but I'm speaking about all the points of view.
For example:
1) Type of licence issued (i still don't know which type of licence is used in Canada...)
2) Prices (school prices, life prices)
3) Time required to complete a course
4) Job availability after the course completion.

Of course this is just a 4 steps guideline, but every aspect that you want to show me making a comparison between USA and Canada for me is good, ok?
Thanks in advance to everybody who wants to help me in this decision.

Thankyou a lot...and keep flyin'

:ok:

+TSRA
9th Jul 2008, 00:20
Hello Marco

I will try and answer your question as best as I can. Its been a while since I last sat right seat in a 172 but I think Im still current :}

1) Canada has its own licence issued by Transport Canada, Transport Canada - Transports Canada (http://www.tc.gc.ca). It is ICAO recognized but not directly transferable to the JAR licence (mind you I dont think the FAA one is either)