PDA

View Full Version : Getting into ATC

Lyndsey
17th May 2008, 19:31
Evening all,

Well first of all congratulations to all who have made it through the NATS process. I on the other hand seem unable to make that final hurdle. I failed last time at the final interview and to say I was devestated is an understatement. This was the second time I had tried and I dont want to keep waiting 12 months.

So my question is, if I cannot get into ATC through NATS, then how else can I do it? Does contacting an Airport and asking for trainee positions ever work? Or the other option I was considering, paying for it myself. Where can I do this and roughly what are the costs involved, cheers.

Foxy Loxy
17th May 2008, 19:53
Lyndsey,

I sympathise. Having realised that NATS were not interested in me, I went away and spent a few years in the "grass roots" of Air/Ground and AFISO until I paid my way into a self-sponsored ADC course. The college I studied at no longer exists, but you could make enquiries with Dundridge (sp?) in Cwmbran and ASTAC in Gloucestershire, both of whom run courses I believe.

The alternative is to apply for ATSA positions. Since NATS changed their courses, those students who had attained a student ATCO ADC license under the old system no longer exist, so many of the non-NATS regional ATC units are opting to "grow their own" from the ATSAs.

If you are unable to pay for your own course, I would suggest this would be your best way in. Get onto the Flight International website and work any contacts you may have.

Of course, if anyone else has any better ideas, I stand to be corrected.

Foxy

Joffyh
17th May 2008, 21:12