PDA

View Full Version : A320 fuel/oil smell just after startup

aviatordom
8th May 2008, 15:46
Hi all,

On a few weeks ago i was on an EZY "Bus" to Malaga from Stansted. Just after startup i noticed a strange fuel/oil smell which only lasted for about 3-5 seconds but smelt pretty good!

On the return flight i could again, right after startup smell something which smelt like fuel/oil

Now, i only know the basics about flying and i'm not very technical with all the systems, etc....

So, could anyone please explain to me what this smell was?

Dream Land
8th May 2008, 15:55
While the aircraft is being pushed back wards, the APU in the tail is supplying air to the air conditioning system, exhaust from the starting engines is ingested by the APU.

aviatordom
8th May 2008, 18:05
Thanks for the quick reply!

Dream Land
8th May 2008, 18:52
Having a re-think, usually the smelly fumes noticed while being pushed back, so the exhaust fumes must be from the APU exhaust, others will correct me if I'm wrong. :confused:

F4F
8th May 2008, 19:25
Dream Land first theory was the better one :)

live 2 fly 2 live

ground_star
9th May 2008, 06:10
Dont EZY only fly 319's or have they gone up in the world?

student88
9th May 2008, 06:30
Usually that happens if the wind is blowing up the chuff of the engine. Exhaust smells are re-ingested into the engine and circulated around the cabin through the air con.

Nah, it's still the Routemasters ;O)

S88:ok:

aviatordom
9th May 2008, 21:06
Very interesting, thanks!

bishop99
9th May 2008, 21:18
Ive noticed it quite often during push and start.

Is it potentially toxic (especially after watching the panorama episode with the Bae 146 and B757)??

Regards to all,

B99

aviatordom
9th May 2008, 22:13
I thought that at first, but then i thought before posting "Surely, there couldn't be a problem like this on what is the world's most popular commercial airliner, someone must of noticed it before?"