PDA

View Full Version : C172 currently crossing the Atlantic

Razor61
19th Feb 2008, 15:05
Not sure if anyone is interested but i was listening to Shanwick earlier on HF Radio and N1763K, a Cessna 172SP is currently crossing the Atlantic between the Azores and the UK.
It apparently left St Johns in Newfoundland on Monday for Santa Maria and is currently making the final overwater leg now towards Cornwall.

Current true airspeed is 120kts at 11,000ft. It must be a very lonely flight if the pilot is on his own.

He has just been asked if he can make the 255 miles between his current location and Lasno in 1hr 15mins before routing to Takas and then i assume Lands End?

Not being a pilot myself, Would a pilot opt for this crossing rather than the northern route via Greenland/Iceland due to weather conditions as that is a vast expanse of water to fly over in a Cessna 172 more so i should imagine between St Johns and the Azores.

kwachon
19th Feb 2008, 15:17
My chosen route delivering a Citation XL from Florida to New Delhi, India was Gander- Punta Delgado-Tunis-Luxor-Al-Ain-Delhi. It is actually quite a short water crossing and the winds and weather are nearly always good.

Sir George Cayley
19th Feb 2008, 20:21
How are they doing?

Sir George Cayley

Leezyjet
19th Feb 2008, 20:23
Last summer someone posted a radar screenshot from one of those flight tracking websites of a C172 routing direct from Gander-Teesside !!!

:eek:

fisbangwollop
19th Feb 2008, 20:33