PDA

View Full Version : New headset

Rishy
18th Feb 2008, 21:44
Hi All,

Newbie here - first post so please don't rip the p155.....

I'm at lesson 11 of my PPL at Northumbria Flying School from Newcastle Airport (and thoroughly enjoying it I might add). The time has come for me to invest in my own headset - the school ones are pretty rubbish and often I'm struggling to hear clearly.

Can anybody suggest a decent pair to get me going? My instructor tells me I shouldn't need to spend any more than about £200. Any recommendations anybody? David Clark seems to be a top brand.

Sorry if this topic has been done before. If so please point me in the direction of that thread.

Cheers

Tim

:ok:

Pilotdom
18th Feb 2008, 21:54
I cant praise these enough...

http://shop.beyerdynamic.de/oxid.php/sid/2d112c4a945946fdd92fb5c473809991/cl/details/cnid/4814714cf740be8f9.96763181/anid/d944709e37d3ba864.99297122

davidd
18th Feb 2008, 22:41
One set of ears...
I wouldnt wear anything else, once you try you have to buy.

Bose - X everytime

dom175b
19th Feb 2008, 02:28
Yes I would say either Bose X but or I am using David Clark X11 and they are great too!

Look on ebay, you'll save loads!

Zulu Alpha
19th Feb 2008, 07:09
Yes, look on ebay. David Clarkes are very robust so second hand ones are normally very good.

Why not put a wanted advert on your flying club noticeboard. Then you can look and try before you buy.

You should pay about half price.

ZA

Applecore
19th Feb 2008, 07:29
Since I got my pair of Bose X my flying has improved loads..

Duchess_Driver
19th Feb 2008, 07:44
Bose are very good - but very expensive in comparison.

If you've money to burn - buy Bose. Even second hand they'll still set you back double what a decent pair of DC's would.

I've had my DC's for 6 years now without any problems whatsoever. They've been well used - daily for the last year or so.

Spruit
19th Feb 2008, 08:35