View Full Version : What direction to go in??opinions anyone?

Ryguy
12th Oct 2000, 19:02
Hello fellow Canadians :), I'm new to this board and forum and well I need some advice.
I'm kind of a newbie here, just finshing off my commercial and plan to get my multi-IFR. I've been doing a lot of thinking recently and just can't seem to decide what I want to do after training, so I figured I see what all of you think. So here are the things that I've thought of.(kind of long, sorry)

1) Get my multi-IFR and instructor rating and find a job instructing. I work at the flying club that I do my training at and there might be a chance of instructing here, but its a small club and not too many hours available. Also I don't really have it in me to instruct, I see whats its like to instruct by working with instructors and i just don't think I'll enjoy it.

2) Do the multi-IFR training and look for work doing skydiving work, charter, sightseeing, or go up north and find work up there. But with the 220 hrs I'll have that might be hard.

3) After my commercial training(flight and written tests done) I do a 50hr float course, I can do it for about $8700 on a Cessna Hawk XP or for about $11000 on a C180 at the local air tour base only 5 minutes away from where I live. There is a possibility of getting a job doing air tours and charters at the local 1000 Island Air Tours (which also flys a Beaver as well) after my training which would be great since I live near by.
The question is should I do my multi-IFR training on top of that even though they have no twin?
Flying floats is something that really interests me and that I'll probably enjoy doing. On the down side its only seasonal and I'll be unemployed and getting no hours in the winter, whereas instucting is year round.

4) Get license conversion and go either overseas, down south to the US, or down under to Australia and find work there.