View Full Version : Canadian pilots to US under NAFTA?

blue_side_up
26th Jun 2000, 05:42
Hey what's this?

Is it true? Are we Canuck pilots to soon be allowed into the US without the heralded 'green card' due to pilot shortage in the US?
There was a thread on this a few days ago in 'Rumours and News', but I can't find it now. I am a Cdn pilot working abroad, and am rather interested in this new(?) rumour. If anyone can shed some light on it, many thanx.

KingAir
26th Jun 2000, 17:26
The same news has been posted on a Canadian pilot foum. It stated that as of July 3, any Canadian citizen with an ATPL can be expedited a green card provided that an American company has offered employment. Still need to verify things but as of a month ago, the change to NAFTA was undergoing final reading. Pretty good news for the industry.

[This message has been edited by KingAir (edited 26 June 2000).]

HighSpeedAluminum
26th Jun 2000, 20:55
KingAir could you direct me to the website you reference. I am very interested! Thanks

KingAir
27th Jun 2000, 14:51
Here you go HighSpeedAluminum: http://www.syz.com/avcanada/
Good luck!

egt
14th Jul 2000, 19:11
The question is, where could we find OFFICIAL info about this, and how would those 'good old boys' feel about a bunch of Canucks taking jobs away from 'God fearing Americans'?

Mile Hi
15th Jul 2000, 05:54
Eh, guys yes you can work in the US. get a Airline or Opperator to hire you on paper, go to the Immigration desk at the airport and they give you a TN-1 VISA. good for ever(MUST BE RENEWED BY YOUR EMPLOYER EVERY YEAR) no need for a green card anymore or to prove a able US citizen is not avaliable for the job.
This is true no BS you can go to the US immigration web sight for more info
Keep the BLUE SIDE up.

------------------

rookie
15th Jul 2000, 07:28
What do the regional places in the US look for as far as time? Anyone heard if they have a shortage of low timers for charter/regional outfits?

KingAir
20th Jul 2000, 15:03