View Full Version : Converting Lycoming 0-320-E2A from Avgas to Mogas?

Pilatus09
25th Jan 2008, 22:12
Hey Guys,

Just wondering has anyone any experience in switching an engine running on Avgas over to Mogas. Its a Lycoming 0-320-E2A

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Pilatus09

BackPacker
25th Jan 2008, 23:36
The engine itself won't be that much of a problem. The problem will be in the fuel lines, fuel filters, pump, fitting etc. etc. etc. I'm not an expert, but I know that the experts will want to know what sort of plane the engine is currently fitted to, whether it's a CofA or permit plane, whether there's an STC for it or not, and so forth.

It won't be trivial if it's a CofA plane and no STC is available.

Pilot DAR
26th Jan 2008, 06:01
If Peterson or the EAA have an STC for both the engine and airframe, you're off to a good start (if there is no STC, forget it, it will be more effort than it's worth to approve). Be sure that you can obtain MOGAS manufactured to the standard specified on the STC. It might be that the STC specifies ASTM standard MOGAS, and your local supply is a different standard. In this case, you will have a regulatory gap, which could be a show stopper.

If alcohol or other oxygenate is blended into the MOGAS, it probably will not qualify.

Pilot DAR

A and C
26th Jan 2008, 08:12
I had an aircraft with a Lycoming O-360, the previose owner used AVGAS in one tank for take off and MOGAS for the cruise.

When the engine was switched from AVGAS to MOGAS the EGT went up by about 25F and the RPM dropped by 50 RPM.

I dont think that using MOGAS offers much in the way of economy as it requires more fuel flow for the same engine performance with the engine running hotter.

ericferret
26th Jan 2008, 09:55
If you go on the UK CAA website and look up Airworthiness notice's 98/A/B/C there is a list of airframe/engine STC's for most types.