PDA

View Full Version : what to do???

garn
23rd Jan 2008, 12:08
Hey,

Im 23, i have no prior mechanical experience and i want to become a helicopter engineer. A lot of people have said this is going to be very tough to accomplish which i dont mind, as its all i want to do and i will get there!

However, im confused as to how i should go about it. Should i just start a course in Aero engineering that for example lasts two years and gives me an EASA 66 license after 2/3 years " practical " work in the job. If so where are these courses and can i do a course where you work on planks, but still go on to work on helicopters as the few courses ive looked at seem to be plank based.

Or should i just ask every single company in the land if they will take me on for their apprenticeships. Ill work anywhere, im not bothered about moving if someone gives me the oppertunity.

I hope someone can give me some advice or even just tell me not to bother!! haha:}

Thanks,

Nathan.Hunter
23rd Jan 2008, 12:31
Go to uni!

Loads about , can do intro course if grades arnt up to much ect,

it will be the best years of your life!

Can get a 12 month placement after 2 years easy then go bk and finnish you degree! lots of jobs going atm and it looks to continue!

garn
23rd Jan 2008, 13:24
cool, what course would you recommend? any standout colleges/unis?
The only issue i have with uni is 3 years!!! and the cost of it!!!haha

Nathan.Hunter
23rd Jan 2008, 14:13
Lol it will be the best 3 years of your life mind! and cost-wise you can get a student loan that will cover that so worry about that later (9% on everything over 15k you earn or somthing)

As for Uni's

its good to get one that offers a sandwich year, takes an extra year but that year you in a related job getting good experience and getting paid quite well for it (and you still get your loan through)

a few courses i kno about are

Aerospace Engineering - probs best for you as lots on structures and propultion