PDA

View Full Version : Juristiction of arriving a/c

Quintilian
21st Dec 2007, 09:15
Hi!
I'm studying for becoming an ATCO, and just had my first Mastery test on Entry Point North (Nordic ATS Academy). I found one of the questions quite strange, and It would be nice if someone could throw in some input...
Question was a multiple choice, and approx. the following:
"When does the controller not longer have jurisdiction over an arriving a/c?"
a - When the A/C leaves the maneouvring area
b - When the A/C gets "cleared to land"
c - something else
d- something else...
I answered B, but afterwards a teacher told me that she thought the correct answer was A.
I was a bit puzzled concerning the framing of the question. Isn't it true that the controller actually never gets JURISTICION over an aircraft?
I do know that the a/c is not longer the controllers RESPONSIBILITY when it has entered the apron (left maneouvring area). In my mind those things aren't synonymous..... I can also remember to have heard somehting about the pilot being "responsible" after getting the "cleared to land".
Any thoughts?
Cheers
TH

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
21st Dec 2007, 10:36
I believe the word you mean is jurisdiction and it depends how you interpret the word. You definitely do not lose control (or juurisdiction) when you clear an aircraft to land - what happens if you need to send it around?

I think the correct answer is "a".

21st Dec 2007, 11:34
I would agree with HD. Once on the Apron ATC assist.

Quintilian
21st Dec 2007, 12:19
Thank you for responding, and what I meant was "jurisdiction" ;-)

I guess you are right, and that one can interpret the word "jurisdiction" in both ways...

I confused myself when I started thinking about Annex 2 (Rules of the air) stating that the pilot-in-command always is responsible for the flight being conducted in accordance with....".

Based on that fact I basically assumed that the pilot-in-command always had "jurisdiction" over the a/c.

TH

pocpicadoor