PDA

View Full Version : Chasing the sun

R2000/1830
2nd Dec 2007, 22:37
Sorry guys I could figure this out in College but cant remember how!! If you flew at the equator in the direction of the setting sun at what speed would you have to fly in-order for it to never set? I know the sun passes through 360 degrees of longitude in 24 h, so it moves at 15 degrees an hour and I know one degree of latitude = one NM but I cant seem to put it together.

As you can guess Im studying for CX

NZScion
2nd Dec 2007, 22:45
If my maths is correct, 15 degrees per hour = 15 * 60 = 900 knots.

R2000/1830
2nd Dec 2007, 22:54
that's what I thought but I know 1 degree of latitude = 1NM but what about 1 degree of longitude, at the equator does it = 1NM too. or do I have this all messed up.

Shiny side down
2nd Dec 2007, 23:09
R2000.
a mile a minute...!

Hint, 1 nm mile per degree is a very small circumference

i'll leave the rest to you.

YRP
2nd Dec 2007, 23:42
Well the earth is pretty close to spherical, so 1 degree on any great circle ought to be the same. As pointed out above, it is 1 nm per minute of lattitude not degree. So I think the 900 kt figure is right.

kiwi chick
3rd Dec 2007, 00:03
So, then?

1 nm per minute, and there's 60 minutes per degree?

So if it moves 15 degrees per hour, 60 nm x 15 per hour = 900 nautical miles per hour?

I don't think I could quite keep up in my cherokee. But just about.

enicalyth
3rd Dec 2007, 01:07