PDA

View Full Version : FLYBE EMB195 Flapless landing

endofeng
21st Nov 2007, 11:13
EMB195 made a '0' Flap landing into Blefast Aldergrove last night, after TOTAL flap failure. Diverted into Aldergrove en-route to the city airport.
Apparently relatively fast approach (170kts ish), no tyres burst though!!
Well done to the crew:}

Dave Gittins
21st Nov 2007, 12:22
I am only a Cessna and Cherokee driver and practise flapless landings all the time. They are not a big deal

I'd be seriously worried if a flapless landing taxed these guys too much.

May a greater expert than I correct me if I am wrong.

DGG

Cyclone733
21st Nov 2007, 12:50
Dave,
The swept back wing on jets is designed for high speed flight and not so suitable for the slower approach speeds. A compromise must be reached for the approach speed, high enough to keep away from the stall, lower than the tyre limiting speed and low enough to avoid the brake energy limits. A flap failure can also be one of the effects of a larger systems problem e.g. a hydraulic system failure. The formula 1/2mv^2 should give you an idea of the increased energy taken onto the ground. 35000kg and 87.5 m/s (170knots) if you want to throw some figures together, takes a fair amount of stopping

Cyclone

Dave Gittins
21st Nov 2007, 13:10
Thank you for the helpful comments following my post.

Bearing in mind the hilarious "Pilots Only Forum" thread that has been running thse last few days, you reminding me of the excellent reasons why we should all be able to post together.

As the difference between the "correctly flapped" and unflapped landing speeds is probably nearly the entire clean stall speed of my steed (circa 50 kts), then runway length is obviously far more critical.

I guess from a piloting perspecive, assuming you can find a strip long enough, the landing isn't any more taxing though ????

DGG

haughtney1
21st Nov 2007, 13:26
Dave, it depends:ok: