PDA

View Full Version : PPL aircraft question

occasional flyer
16th Nov 2007, 12:01
I'm a newbie to the forum and would like one particular question answered if possible.

Which aircraft can one fly with a PPL (a full and comprehensive list would be appreciated)

Cheers

Occasional Flyer

christimson
16th Nov 2007, 12:16
John Travolta is a PPL. I believe he flys his own B707. So almost anything with a type rating.

Shunter
16th Nov 2007, 12:29
Travolta has an ATPL (so I'm told). Probably sensible since he "guests" as a pilot for Qantas occasionally. I was under the impression that there was a weight limit for the aircraft a PPL could fly... not concrete on that though.

Edit: or maybe he hasn't, opinions as always, vary...http://www.pprune.org/forums/showpost.php?p=3162605&postcount=12

micromalc
16th Nov 2007, 12:36
I am afraid that your question is a little vague.But assuming you are going to fly a single engine type, try looking at the classifieds.Everything from super-cubs (great for farmstrips) to "hairy" aerobatics planes. Try:
www.flyer.co.uk/classifieds/
Then just talk to as many pilots as you can.

Vee One...Rotate
16th Nov 2007, 12:47
If you fancy an afternoon of sifting, I'm told the privelages of a PPL are in The Air Navigation Order, Schedule 8.

Have fun :ok:

BackPacker
16th Nov 2007, 14:20
Occasional Flyer, the answers so far have all been along the lines of "basically everything" to "look in the ANO" or "look in the classifieds". All true, but since you seem to be new to this whole flying thing, let me put it in simple words.

The basic PPL, what almost everybody goes for, legally allows you to fly "single engine piston" aircraft up to a max. take-off weight (well, mass actually) of something like 5700 kilograms (I think - have to look up Air Law for the exact number). Initially, the aircraft also cannot be "high performance" (over 250 Hp), nor "complex" (retractable gear, variable pitch prop) nor a "taildragger".