PDA

View Full Version : How Far Do You Go With The "Captain"?

Siguarda al fine
10th Nov 2007, 15:04
Im a freight Dog Pilot and I consider myself only to be a "Captain" when I have an aircraft strapped to me and a crew to lead. Hence I know nothing about the world of passenger flying. Do CC address the "Pilot" as "Captain" when out of the aircraft, out of uniform and maybe in a hotel? If so then how do you address the first officer and the flight engineer?

Leito
10th Nov 2007, 15:09
Sadly we say..... -and you?, je je je

VS-LHRCSA
10th Nov 2007, 15:43
In front of a passenger, I would address him or her as Captain "Smith" or whatever. Other than that, it's always been first names really. I've never come across a pilot that has been asked to be called anything but that. I think the fact that at BA, they introduce themselves when boarding the aircraft and making the effort to walk all the way back to Doors 4 to say hello shows that they don't want any "barriers" as such. It may well be different on other airlines, particularly those in the Far East.

Insh Allah
10th Nov 2007, 16:45
Just Coffee black, no sugar and you can call me whatever you want... just don't insult me.. Capt will do nicely thanks :O

K.Whyjelly
10th Nov 2007, 18:18
I find "Sir" is sufficient:p

Back in the real world I use first names with all of the crew and expect the crew to do likewise with me. And I regularly take a stroll back to the L/R4 doors to say hi on boarding and have a bit of banter before I get locked away in my box for 8 or 10 hours:{.

Possible cultural differences in the Far East and Middle East may dictate C/C having to use the term "Captain". I know that first Officers in a large Dubai based airline are known as 'an yoo's' as in "would you like a drink Captain..........? An yoo?" (whilst looking with disdain at the poor F/O):}

Virginia
10th Nov 2007, 21:54
All the way depending on how hot he or she is :ok:

Generally I would address as 'Hey you' or 'Alright love?'