PDA

View Full Version : a/c purchase question

Flying surfer
17th Oct 2007, 20:34
I've been toying for the last 3-4 years with the idea of buying an a/c,with the dollar at an all time low maybe this si the right time to go for it.

My questions is am i really saving money buying in the US and then flying back with the added ferry costs, etc? has anyone done this and if so what were your rough costs.

How do you go about sorting out a pre purchase inspection or are there compaines in the US that will do this for you?

Lots of things to think about but when you are shelling out $70000 you need to get it right

Shunter
17th Oct 2007, 20:46
Not having done it myself but having looked at it in the past I'd give advice on one aspect of importing an aircraft - do it via Denmark. They have a 0% VAT policy, so you can import your aircraft into the EU (via Denmark) without having to pay any VAT as you would if you brought it directly into the UK. That's a hell of a lot of money if you buy a nice SR22! A chap on the Flyer forums undertook such a ferry recently and posted fairly extensively on the ins and outs of the process.

There are pitfalls and red tape involved, but it's usually well worth the effort. The slightest paperwork mistake and C&E will have you bent over, pants round ankles in a flash. Hopefully others will comment in due course who have more practical experience.

ChampChump
17th Oct 2007, 20:48
"My questions is am i really saving money buying in the US and then flying back with the added ferry costs, etc?"

No.

More detail here: http://forums.flyer.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=37664
But if it's what you really, really want, not available here and you have bottomless pockets, why not?

Contacttower
17th Oct 2007, 21:35
No.