PDA

View Full Version : B737 IFR Renewal

northeast canuck
27th Sep 2007, 12:44
Does anyone know if there is anywhere in Canada where I can do a multi-IFR flight test in a B737 sim (300-500 or 800)? I've been flying abroad for 10 years and am current on the 737. In order to renew my Canadian ATPL I need to do a multi-IFR ride and as I am not current on light aircraft I would rather do it in a 737 if possible! I suspect that if it is possible, the cost would be high, but it's gotta be worth a try?

Canuck15
27th Sep 2007, 13:56
Hi

I had a hell of a time trying to the same thing that you want to do . The problem is that as of a few months ago not a single place in canada where you can get a 300-900 sim only a 200is available.My writeen eaxam lapsed as well so i had to go do the written again and do a multi IFR ride on a piston twin but the b737 was transfeered on my canadian as I submitted all of the training records...that was pretty much the only choice I had .

regards

bigmc
27th Sep 2007, 18:15
Westjet in YYC has 737NG simulator and they are available to rent.

Canuck15
28th Sep 2007, 07:49
I tried last month but ..Westjet sims are not available for rent ...but check and make sure

regards

northeast canuck
28th Sep 2007, 10:16
Thanks so much for the replies. I checked into the WestJet sim, which would be ideal of course, but they only rent it to "training organizations" - I guess other airlines?

So, I will do what so many have done before me - get into a light twin for the first time in over a decade and hope for the best - look out!!!

Canuck15
29th Sep 2007, 13:14
well there is one more possibility ....I heard that premair out of seattle may be able to get a transport canada approved examiner to come in and do a flight test on the B737 and put it directly on to your canadian atp. call them up and ask ...it'll be worth a shot and may save you going in the piston twin ..www.premair.com

regards

grind king
30th Sep 2007, 04:29