PDA

View Full Version : Headset choice

bigbloke
26th Sep 2007, 20:47
Hi

My first post on here, I've been lurking for a few weeks and found it a useful source of information, opinions, humour.

Anyway, I have a simple question, I am a student PPL, now on my third attempt over the years but now I can actually afford it (sort of). I'm not going to be a professional pilot but would see maybe a hundred or so hours per year to do what I want to with my PPL.

I want to buy a headset and see them ranging from less than 100 quid to nearly 700. I understand about ANR etc and have used it for years for train and airline travel. I can completely understand why someone who makes their living flying for thousands of hours per year would go for top of the range but ...

What would folk recommend as a suitable headset for my needs and why ?

I know there are threads on here that cover the choice of headsets but they are pretty much focussed on the needs of the professional or wannabe professional pilot.

Thanks

Paul

Lasiorhinus
27th Sep 2007, 16:24
Get the best you can afford.

Whether you're flying your 900 hours a year, or just 20, hearing loss is irreversible.

You might want to consider getting a 'simple' headset now, but putting aside some money every year, and in three years or so, buying the absolute top-of-the-range headset. This way, its not a huge financial outlay all at once, but you will get what you need reasonably soon.

And once you buy the better one, your current headset becomes your spare, or for a passenger, etc.

sternone
27th Sep 2007, 16:52
David Clark H10-13.4

Medium priced, top quality!

tangovictor
27th Sep 2007, 17:23
Get the best you can afford.

Whether you're flying your 900 hours a year, or just 20, hearing loss is irreversible.