PDA

View Full Version : ATR Coversion, with career prospect

fly1981
8th Sep 2007, 09:00
Hi All, Does anyone have any info on South African company's that operate ATR's? I am a 1500hr CPL/IR pilot on the verge of doing my ATP test,operating turbo-props at the moment. Would love to fly the ATR, and am willing to Pay the Conversion, Provided there is a job afterwards. Please PM me with any contact details? Would appreciate any feedback.

mlindb
8th Sep 2007, 20:36
Try Solenta. www.solenta.com (http://www.solenta.com)

Good luck.

Solid Rust Twotter
8th Sep 2007, 21:21
Paying for the type rating is something that should be left to the company you fly for. Having crew pay for a type rating themselves is an insidious illness that is creeping into aviation and eroding terms and conditions for all crew.:=

oompilot
9th Sep 2007, 08:39
Well put SRT. It’s amazing to see that so many guys are so keen to give away their money. Fly1981 never even bothered to query who had ATR’s or similar and are offering training bonds, a much fairer set up for both parties involved. You get a rating and the company makes money out of you because of it. Come on guys, it’s not rocket science.:ugh:

putt for dough
9th Sep 2007, 10:30
As long as there are deperate pilots around, terms and conditions
will steadily deteriate. Just like bus drivers.

fly1981
11th Sep 2007, 08:34
Thanks for the pm's. To SRT, I am fully aware of the state of the aviation market in SA, Having worked in it, And been around it for years, Not just as a pilot I may add. As a pilot with my sort of experience, there are very few, if not any that will pay for a "DECENT' conversion. Not interested in a 2.5hr job, Not even if they paying!

Foxyflyer
11th Sep 2007, 09:37
I understand that you want to move up to bigger aircraft Fly1981 but your experience should be enough without having to pay for the job :ugh: