PDA

View Full Version : B737 Run-Up with one engine missing


lolica
6th Sep 2007, 11:13
regards all,

one silly question:

- Is it allowed to Run-Up, let's say
Engine at the pos. 1 if the Engine at
pos.2 is not installed.

- Is there any reference or limitation?

Thank you,

lolica

Rainboe
6th Sep 2007, 11:22
If one engine is not installed, it has absolutely no effect on the other engine, so I would think no problem. I would just advise if an engine is not installed, don't try and run up the engine that is not there!

It's a maintenance thing, but be aware of balance problems without an engine.

lolica
6th Sep 2007, 13:04
Thank You rainboe.

I agree the balance will normaly be a problem.

But still stays the question:

- Is there any reference or limitation?


lolica

spannerhead
7th Sep 2007, 18:12
I think that common sense is the limitation and you won't find that in any manuals. I suppose tha it's actually possible taking the right precautions like blanking off the bleed air duct to the starter and making the hydraulics and electrical side of things safe. What puzzles me is what prompted you to ask the question? The only scenario that I can think of is a stored aircraft with only one engine which needs running from time to time.