PDA

View Full Version : Today's BA8046 Jersey-Gatwick

Mardavi
27th Jul 2007, 15:50
I had a call from a pax onboard to tell me they had a full emergency into LGW this afternoon. Crew were all called forward to the Cockpit to have the situation explained, 737 landed with all services on standby. He asked me if anyone knew what the incident could have been about. As you can tell from my lack of technical language, I am no expert in such things! He wondered if it was flap problem, made initial approach and quite late aborted landing:confused:

Phileas Fogg
27th Jul 2007, 16:00
Would not have been attempting to land during an initial approach, a landing normally takes place after a final approach :)

ABO944
27th Jul 2007, 16:15
If you had a call from one of the passenger's on this actual flight, why the hell didn't they ask the 2 drivers what happened !?:confused:

the_hawk
27th Jul 2007, 16:29
not everyone dares to trouble the 2 drivers who - one thinks - had just trouble enough

well, at least I wouldn't...

Smokie
27th Jul 2007, 19:09
I agree, I wouldn't want to upset the Cheese Board on short finals.;)

GBALU53
27th Jul 2007, 20:10
Don,t call them drivers, I did so one day many years ago a good a full scale telling off.
We are PILOTS.:ok:

Phileas Fogg
28th Jul 2007, 01:14
BA B737's have air phones? Last time I was on one the seat was knackered, never mind being able to call for seatsRus :)

GBALU53
6th Aug 2007, 15:46
What can one say if only the papers found out more information and then told the public.
Meaning pilot have regular checks and land an aircraft flapless could well be one of these.
Also why the reason the aircraft could not land in Jersey was the runway was not long enough for a flapless landing.
They ommited to say that there is no problem with landing with out the flaps and adding the aircraft touch down speed is higher and the land roll longer, instead of giving Joe and his pulic the fright of there life with only half a story.

Mardavi