PDA

View Full Version : Ballpark cost for the PPL

zetland76
8th Jun 2007, 20:02
I'm sorry if this has been asked 10000 times before but I can't find what I want to know in the FAQ.
I am about to book the PPL course. I have some flying experience. On a weeks gliding course, some 10 years ago, I managed to go solo.
The flying cost is quoted at £135 per hour on a Cessna 172, but what are the approximate extra costs?
a) Medical examination
b) Books (cost and which ones)
c) Ground School (hours, cost and which courses)
d) Exam fees (costs and which ones)
e) Landing fees
f) Any other costs I might have missed

Thanks

Mike

stickandrudderman
8th Jun 2007, 20:21
Mine cost me around 6K in the UK three years ago.
I could have got it cheaper but I could only do it at the local airfield.

deltaxray
8th Jun 2007, 20:38
10k for me but thats in euros. Obviously its cheaper in the u.s but i only had access to my local airfield.

maxdrypower
8th Jun 2007, 20:41
Mine was v cheap as i did it through the RAF but 5-6 grand would be about right . To make it cheaper try and do it all in one fell swoop take three weeks off if you can and do the whole lot . And secondly I mentioned this on another forum get yourself a smaller aircraft pa38 cessna 152 or 150 its considerably cheaper than than a larger 172 after 3 hours flying youll be reducing costs . with mostb flying schools at the mo 100-110 quid per hour is about right yu shouldnt be paying for an aircraft that has two empty seats and a baggage area , your learning to fly think about pax later on , just my two penny worth

davidatter708
8th Jun 2007, 22:04
I paid £5152 unfront for the course all the rules and maops
plus 4 thom books radio exam all ground school and exams skills test.
medical £120
extra landing fees max £100
extra exams cause i failed some £10/exam
But that was on a £152 and a junior member should have been £150
ppl confuser £25
ummmmmm I think thats about it
oh it took my 6 mnths and 45hrs 15 minutes of flying