PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

digital.poet
3rd Jun 2007, 00:33
Howdy folks.

I have been lurking around this forum for a month or so, and thought I would take the plunge and introduce myself. I am a PPL student taking my lessons from Headcorn airfield. I fly a 172 because I am pushing 6'7" and it was the only available aircraft that seemed to work for me when I went for my initial 'fitting' . I completed my 7th hour this afternoon, with some climbing and descending turns. I am really enjoying the experience so far, and I think my lessons are going pretty well, I do seem suffer from a condition which causes me to neglect rudder control though. It feels like there are so many things to concentrate on that the rudder gets a little neglected. After every lesson I spend the next few days hearing my instructor's voice... "More right rudder, MORE RIGHT RUDDER!" . I wonder if this is a common problem for students at my level. I assume it all becomes second nature at some point (much like learning to drive a car, where learning starts with a complicated array of different actions, and reaches a point where you just hop in and 'go somewhere').

I also passed my second exam today. Human performance. I passed Airlaw a few weeks ago. With scores of 93% and 95% I am pretty happy with my results, although I do wish I hadn't missed that single question on my exam today, for some reason when calculating time to a collision at specific distances and speeds I decimalized our time system and somehow concluded that there were 100 seconds in a minute :ugh:. Exam pressure I guess. I can't imagine I will spend a great deal of time in the cockpit calculating the exact time before I hit the oncoming aircraft though. I would think getting the out of the way would be my first priority. If I feel like calculating what my life expectancy was to the nearest second, I will do it from the safety of the bar thank you very much ;).