PDA

View Full Version : AAIB investigation into serious fatigue-related incident near Birmingham, UK, 2004

shoey1976
30th May 2007, 17:20
Dear all

Firstly the usual introduction: my name is Ian Shoesmith and I am a journalist working for BBC News in the UK.

For the past three months or so I've been investigating pilot fatigue: its causes as well as its consequences.

As part of my research I would very much like to speak to anybody directly involved in the following incident, as reported by the AAIB in its April 2006 bulletin:

Avro 146-RJ100, registered G-CFAF (http://www.aaib.dft.gov.uk/publications/bulletins/april_2006/avro_146_rj100__g_cfaf.cfm)

Plane was an Avro 146-RJ100, registered G-CFAF.

Not sure who operated this flight at the time, or whether that airline is still operating under its current name.

Were you either the captain or FO on that flight? Do you know who was? If you could let me know, in confidence, I'd be very grateful. Either email me [email protected] or ring me on +44 (0)7769 977665 or pm me.

Best wishes
Ian

flybmi
30th May 2007, 17:29
http://www.aaib.dft.gov.uk/publications/bulletins/april_2006/avro_146_rj100__g_cfaf.cfm ;)

Looks like it was operated by BACX at the time.

rhythm method
30th May 2007, 23:33
Ian, I would doubt it was a fatigue related issue, as the RJ100 fleet were not particularly overworked, especially in comparison to low-cost carriers. Sorry can't be more informative as I no longer work for them.

compressor stall
30th May 2007, 23:51
From the analysis....

The co-pilot commented that he had had a particularly
busy roster during the month leading up to the incident,

shoey1976
31st May 2007, 09:04
Just to quote the key bits, in my opinion, from that AAIB report

Analysis
Investigation of this incident has focussed on trying to determine why the co-pilot mistakenly selected the flap lever when attempting to raise the gear. In doing so several significant areas were identified which may have been contributory.