PDA

View Full Version : Safety aspects of FI

barit1
12th May 2007, 11:58
As an former instructor, I found that the instructional process diverted me in some measure from my usual vigilance outside the cockpit.
This was brought home to me yesterday with a VFR midair a few miles from a local uncontrolled airport, with a FI and his student among the unfortunate victims. The angle of closure has yet to be determined, so the training aircraft may or may not have had an opportunity to see and avoid.
Does anyone have access to the safety statistics showing relative hazard of midairs in instructional vs. non-instructional flying?

FormationFlyer
13th May 2007, 00:21
Out of all of the Airproxes I have reported only 2 I have been involved in were non-instructional. All others (probably around another 6 reports Ive made...) were all on instructional flights....where I had right of way. But that aside I suspect the airprox wouldnt have happened and I would have spotted the conflicting aircraft earlier had I not been instructing at the time.

To be honest thanks to radio you dont have to look at the person you are talking to all the time...and Im as much head out of the cockpit as I can be, but the workload on the instructor is considerable; monitoring of hands,feet, flight log, nav, radio, etc etc its an amazingly high workload environment. We arent superhuman so something must suffer, and the lookout is certainly going to be impacted.

Whirlybird
13th May 2007, 09:00
No access to stats, but I agree with FormationFlyer - with the best will in the world, there is a physical limit to what you can do when you're instructing - it's an extremely high workload environment.

especially in helicopters!!!!!!!!!

jamestkirk
13th May 2007, 09:10
The workload can be very high as an instructor.

I have been involved in a few close calls.