PDA

View Full Version : What qualifications needed

rvsm compliant
24th Apr 2007, 12:23
I'm an aircraft engineer with 2 kids the eldest is 12 and He's moving up to High school in Sept.
He has an interest in becoming an ATC.What Qualifications will he need to have a chance of being selected?
What is the rate of pay while under training?
What is the rate when Qualified?
I know it's rather premature but if we have the info and it looks promising I'll do all the encouragement I can.:)

rickypbrown
24th Apr 2007, 12:54
RVSM,

The best resource is probably www.nats.co.uk (http://www.nats.co.uk). All the information you've requested is on there.

Ppdude
24th Apr 2007, 14:29
Your going to have to ignore all the negative aspects of training, selection and pay(see all other threads on here)

If you are determinded enough to get through all of that, he will experience one of the most rewarding careers possible.

There is not one person who reads this who would rather be in an office 9-5

But dont even think about doing it straight from school. As said before Uni, travel or work for a couple of years. Doesn't matter which but one of them is a must.

ShuttleSixYankee
24th Apr 2007, 15:08
Surely there are people who have entered NATS at age 18, right?

MancBoy
24th Apr 2007, 15:19
Well I was 19 straight from 6th form.

And now hitting the top of the band 5 scale at 33 so there is some advantages to starting early, more years at the top of the scale, assuming I live for a while that is!

Gonzo
24th Apr 2007, 15:45
I'm the same as MancBoy, but a few years behind him. Straight form sixth form, only job I've ever had (apart from a paper round!):}

Scarf
24th Apr 2007, 15:55
Same here, headed straight into it from 6th form at 18 (only had a Saturday job before that)!