PDA

View Full Version : London Information and exact locations

jasperyellow
22nd Apr 2007, 19:27
I am an aerial photography pilot who frequently uses London Information for a FIS. Due to the nature of the work I operate at fairly low altitudes and am always aware of the potential dangers of low flying military traffic. To try and minimise the risks I always try and give as precise a position as I can because we can often be on site orbiting for anything up to an hour at a time. My question is really how specific can I be with my position reports - If Im operating over a fairly small village would ATC appreciate being told this or would they prefer to be told my position relative to a larger town or city? I ask because London Information cover such a large area it would be impossible for the controllers to have local knowledge in the same way that an controller providing a FIS at an aerodrome would be able to. Basically how can I help you to keep me safe?

BDiONU
22nd Apr 2007, 20:49
Basically how can I help you to keep me safe?
Ask for a radar service (not from FIR obviously) because FIR only provide an information and alerting service, thats information on traffic they know the position of (assuming that position is accurate in the first instance) and that traffic keeps their position updated.
Best way for you to keep yourself safe is yea olde Mk1 eyeball ;)

BD

Roffa
22nd Apr 2007, 23:03
jasper,

I may be teaching you to suck eggs, but do you use the CANP (http://www.ais.org.uk/aes/pubs/aip/pdf/aic/4Y223.PDF) procedure?

That's probably one of the most effective things you can do for alerting the military to your presence.

WireFired
22nd Apr 2007, 23:07
Hi. Don't want to try & teach you to suck eggs but do you use the Civil Aircraft Notification Procedure (CANP)?

Checking in with the Low Flying Booking Cell will