PDA

View Full Version : Manually flying airliners

Mungo Man
8th Apr 2007, 11:42
I'm new to flying jets and so far when I'm flying I can't wait to get the autopilot on since it eases workload so drastically. It got me thinking what are other airline SOPs and what to what extent do other proffessional pilots hand fly their aircraft?

I don't imagine many people hand fly their aircraft 'raw data' much after take off, but perhaps they do fly manually with the flight director on. In my company raw data flight is discouraged except for visual approaches. I tend to engage the autopilot at about 1500ft after departure and disengage it at about 600ft on the ILS. On one occasion when it was quiet I followed the flight director up to FL100 but only once so far. So what do others do?

411A
8th Apr 2007, 14:27
Except where an automatic approach/land is anticipated, I normally hand fly from FL100, on down.

Takeoffs?
Always hand fly until at least FL150.

Raw data?
Every once in awhile.

And yes, this includes busy TMA's as well.
My First Officers?
Strangely enough, they do the same, normally.

wileydog3
8th Apr 2007, 14:43
It is just another airplane whether jet or not. You will not develop the skills required to hand fly if you are always on autopilot. Yes, it does reduce workload but what happens when your autopilot is on the MEL and you have to hand fly it. Well, if your skills are in place, no big deal. You just trim it up manually instead of letting the autopilot do ALL the work.

Second, there has long been an argument between efficiency (bean counters and check airmen) who want everything flown on autopilot and line-swine (like me) who actually enjoy flying the airplane. I find that if I don't hand fly and don't occasionally fly raw data, my scan atrophies and my skills become less polished