PDA

View Full Version : training in ontario.

moetorious
6th Apr 2007, 15:12
Hi guys, a newbie here wants your advice, so here it goes. Im planning to go to ontario in april and start my training first of may (at markham buttonville airport), then train until auguest or get my PPL liscence by august or septermber, then I have to head back to nova scotia to go back to school (dalhousie university), then my plans there is to rent plane just to practice and get my hours, then go back to ontario next summer to finish rest of my training.

do you guys think thats a good idea to do? im currently 19 turning 20 24th of this month. and how long does it take to get ur PPL if your training full time.

thnx
-Moe

Pilot DAR
7th Apr 2007, 23:44
Hi Moe,

Welcome to Canadian aviation, it's great!

Buttonville has a very good flight training environment. Buttonville is one of Canada's busiest airports, and is controlled. This means lots of radio work, which is good, but waiting in line sometimes, while the clock ticks, not so good. Yes, you log the waiting time as flying time, 'cause the engine is running, but you're on the ground.

Brampton Flying Club, which is just northwest of Toronto is also very good. Brampton's advantage is that they own their own airport. They also have a good selection of aircraft, including an amphibian.

There are a number of other flying schools which are also very good, farther away from Toronto. The one major advantage of many of these is that being smaller, they could perhaps more cater to your specific needs and schedule. The "big" flying schools are often very busy, and you can find yourself waiting for aircraft and instructors to be available.

On the other hand, if you're in a busy environment, and waiting to fly, you get to watch all of the other students, and learn from watching their successes and failures, and asking about them. That very valuable learning is completely free to you - as much as you can absorb!