PDA

View Full Version : Do you use the Semicircular rule?

will fly for food 06
25th Mar 2007, 09:39
Hello,
Im new to the PPL flying after flying in the RAF. On a cross country yesterday i was using the semicircular rule due to amount of haze. I was tempted to take RIS rather than just FIS because of the amount of traffic that was flying in opposite directions at similar levels. This is not a telling off to those people i am just interested how many of you use this rule when flying VFR?

S-Works
25th Mar 2007, 09:43
The UK tends to use quadrantal not semi for VFR flight.

will fly for food 06
25th Mar 2007, 09:57
Oh dear thats what i meant:confused:. Not good first impressions. It must be this time change thats made me lose my lie in:zzz:.

jamestkirk
25th Mar 2007, 10:19
Don't get too uptight. At least you are paying attention and using your initiative when faced with poor visibility, so well done.

No, you will not find everyone following the same advice.

But, bear in mind, the VFR quad/semi is only advice and you can fly anything you want, even above 3000' in VFR (airspace permitting).

A RIS is a good idea.

Whopity
25th Mar 2007, 10:27
Most PPLs seem to fly below 3000 feet possibly because they don't want to complicate things by
a) flying quadrantals and
b) having to set 1013

Practically speaking with the average UK weather and controlled airspace it is not very often possible to adhere to the quadrantal rule.

will fly for food 06
25th Mar 2007, 10:58
Thanks for the replies everybody. Some interesting thoughts from all. Flying alot in the westcountry so not much controlled airspace above.

Single Spey
25th Mar 2007, 11:09
Note: The quadrantal rule is one of the Instrument Flying Rules.

jamestkirk
25th Mar 2007, 12:31
Absolutley right.
It is advised though for VFR but it's totally your descretion.

Pitts2112
25th Mar 2007, 12:43