PDA

View Full Version : President Eisenhower Travels in RAF Comet

Warmtoast
23rd Mar 2007, 23:05
In 1959 I was a VHF/DF operator based at RAF Abingdon where our VHF/DF station provided cross bearings to aircraft on the approach to RAF Benson to allow Benson ATC to plot the distance to touchdown for an aircraft on final approach. This meant I was friendly with the ATC bods at Benson. In July of that year I'd been accepted for training as an AQM and by late August had completed my training at 1PTS at Abingdon and 242 OCU at Dishforth and had returned to Abingdon to await my posting to 99 Sqn at Lyneham.

This meant I was in touch again with one of my drinking friends in ATC at Benson who told me that President Eisenhower was due to land at Benson to have talks with prime minister Macmillan at Chequers on his return from a visit to the queen at Balmoral and would I like to see a real live US president?

Nothing ventured nothing gained I grabbed my Rolleiflex camera, hopped on my motorcycle and went to Benson. Wearing uniform and with a rather large "professional" camera around my neck it was assumed I was an "official photographer" and I was ushered to the scaffolding erected for photographers and duly took my photographs when the Comet pulled up and the doors opened as can be seen in the attached photo.

Is there anyone still around who was on that flight I wonder? From memory I'd guess this took place in late August 1959 because I didn't join 99 Sqn until September of that year.

It must have been quite a feather in 216's hat to have flown a real live US president down from Aberdeen (or wherever) and from memory it was a rather unique event. I suppose it also begs the question as to why he didn't travel in AirForce One or whatever it was called in those days.