PDA

View Full Version : Going to Massey's in NZ. Hopefully will join up with a local SG carrier. One problem.

Effee
4th Mar 2007, 10:25
As topic says, I am a 20 year old Singaporean currently serving my national service. I end at the end of the year. My plan so far is to apply to Massey's, finish my degree in aviation and hopefully get a spot as a 2nd Off in SIA or Cathay.

Only one problem, I wear glasses, my degree is around 200 each in both eyes. LASIK is certainly an option I've considered, but I am not too keen as it is not 100% guaranteed you'll have perfect eyesight and you might even land up worse off than you were.

So my question is, what are my chances getting in with glasses? Will they give preference to candidates who have perfect 6/6 eyesight over me?

er1cw
4th Mar 2007, 10:39
Have you consider SFC ? They do accept private candidates now. Visited their office at Seletar, the staffs are quite friendly, shake some hands and was told they are 4 blokes flying with them privately.

Oh, not forget to mention it cost about the same as Massey.

dream747
4th Mar 2007, 10:41
I'm serving NS as well now and I thought of going down the route you're going to take as well. After so much research and advice given by everyone here I just thought I should pass this on as well. It's not possible to enter the airline industry fresh out of Massey with just only 200 hours time. Many airlines if not are are looking at jet experience and at least 1000 hours total flying time.

And it seems that SIA doesn't give preference to those with a license, even a CAAS one. They'll select you based on their own criteria. Only if you pass the interviews and everything like the others do then you'll get to go straight to the learjet.

Just some food for thought!

Effee
4th Mar 2007, 11:21
Not SFC. I want a degree as well. Massey will let me get that.