PDA

View Full Version : Airline QFE Operations

galaxy flyer
16th Jan 2007, 01:26
Having just completed my third trip to Mother Russia in two weeks, I was wondering how the airlines handle QFE operations. Once one wraps the brain around the concept and meters, it really goes quite smoothly. If you insist on converting all the numbers to feet and QNH, the chance for a cock-up grows. So what do the major operators do??

None
16th Jan 2007, 02:00
If your altimeter will not display meters, you really have no choice.
I have been flying to Russia for more than 6 years. I have not heard of any of our crews making an error converting to meters. There is a cadence that we all follow, and it works great.
Concerning QNH, the ACARS METAR report comes with QNH, and all of the Jeppesen plates advise that QNH is available on request (the Jeppesen plates work well with either QNH or QFE). We request it, and they provide it. If it doesn't match up with the ACARS METAR QNH, we request it again.
On that note, I have been very happy with Russia's ATC services in the regions I fly.

dolly737
16th Jan 2007, 07:43
We use feet and QNH, if only QFE is provided (only happened once), we convert it to QNH. Haven't had any problems with it yet. Our terminal charts show conversion tables without reference to altimeter, the approach charts show meters QFE -> feet QNH with a note on how many hPa to add to QFE to obtain QNH.

galaxy flyer
16th Jan 2007, 15:58
I was really trying to find out what most airlines and others use in Russia. The Global Express has metric altitudes displayed with a selection. We use QFE, in regions where it is the standard, rather than trying to convert the controller's height assignments into QNH altitudes. In other words, we just go over to QFE, but I wonder what others do.

I agree Russian ATC is very good and never had a problem.

GF

Sniff
16th Jan 2007, 16:11