PDA

View Full Version : microlght instructor rating/made clear?

microsky
11th Jan 2007, 15:40
hi everyone
just joined today, this forum is great.
i am looking for some clarification on the requirements to become a microlight flying instructor. i have passed all ppl ground exams, i have only 8 hours in at the moment on microlight flexwing, but i intend a career change by the end of 2007.
what i need to know is,

do i need a class 1 medical to instruct on microlights?

how much will the whole training cost? (i have a budget of £10000.)

where is best to train? i live in wakefield west yorkshire.

is there enough work out there to attain £300 per week?

am i too old? i am 44.

any help any of you can give me would be greatly appreciated, i just want to fly for a living and i have remortgaged the house to fund this change. i am looking at the microlight route as it is growing year on year and its still affordable to most people. i should have done something when i was 20, but like most people, kids, mortgage and life got in the way.

i look forward to your help.
thank you
microsky

BlueRobin
11th Jan 2007, 18:41
The FI is a rating, which is attached to your licence. Medical validity only pertains to your LICENCE. From what I can make of LASORS, the AFI rating is attached to your microlight PPL. The PPL needs at least an endorsement from your GP, though JAR CLass 2 and 1 would confer medical rights also.

Is it true PPL instructing on microlights can potentially pay more than on PPL(A)?

BEagle
11th Jan 2007, 20:33
You should really contact the BMAA to establish what you need to do if you wish to become a Microlight AFI.

However, the minimum flying experience required before you can start the Microlight AFI Course is 100 hour as PIC, of which a minimum of 60 hours must be on Microlights, including 5 hours on the variant to be used for the course.