PDA

View Full Version : BANGKOK SUVARNABHUMI

Xeque
22nd Dec 2006, 00:09
On the local radio news this morning. The Thai authorities are considering re-opening Bangkok Don Muang Airport due to "continuing problems" at the recently opened Bangkok Suvarnabhumi.

The low cost airlines have been unhappy for some time. There have been reports of collapsing taxiways and various problems with lifts and baggage handling.

Something of an embarrassment! I haven't had an opportunity to use the new airport yet so I have no first hand experience of it from a pax point of view.

Phil Space
22nd Dec 2006, 01:25
Lack of toilets and very poor signage plus the retail space is operated by local monopoly King Power. They seem to think it's a good idea to obstruct the approach to passport control with a large duty free outlet, the last thing you want after a 12 hour red eye flight.

Trying to buy a beer or meal involves a queue to buy a swipe card at one counter, taking it to queue at the bar and then another queue to collect whatever change you are owed when you return the card. It all makes work I suppose but I prefered the old style waiters and bills at the table in Don Muang.

The talk is that domestic flights could re locate to Don Muang which would mean a 45 minute taxi ride across Bangkok if you are changing from international to domestic.

One thing the new airport has in common with the old is the taxi and hotel touts.

Give me Singapore, KL or Schipol anyday.

Wiley
22nd Dec 2006, 05:53
Firstly, let me re-state that this IS a rumour site, so I don't know whether this can be confirmned. However, having said that, a Thai acquaintance told me that many of the problems associated with the new BKK airport stem from the recently departed Prime Minister of Thailand and the allegations of corruption that lead to his political demise.