PDA

View Full Version : Personal Indemnity Insurance

Northern_Flyer
17th Nov 2006, 20:23
As a newly qualified instructor I would appreciate any advice on the merits, or otherwise, of this type of insurance.
Is it considered necessary?
Where would I look for a good policy?

:confused:

Captain Jock
20th Nov 2006, 09:42
The answer to this perhaps depends on your personal wealth. There is little point suing someone for damages if they have no means to pay any award made against them. So if you have no money don't worry about it! On the other hand if you have any assets, including your home, you might feel the need to protect yourself at a time when people will resort to the courts anxious to blame someone (other than themselves) in the hope of getting monetary compensation. The only policy I am aware of which will offer you some protection can be found by going to the AOPA web site and following the link to instructor insurance.

the dean
20th Nov 2006, 11:39
As a newly qualified instructor I would appreciate any advice on the merits, or otherwise, of this type of insurance.
Is it considered necessary?
Where would I look for a good policy?

:confused:
northern flyer..

not sure what insurance you seek.:confused: ...is it to cover you in case of accident for personal injury .?you can purchase that but if you are talking about getting cover in the event of an action against the aircraft owner and you as pilot then you would normally be entitled to the benefit of your employers/clubs insurance.you should check the level of cover and the fact that you are nemed as instructor on the panel.

you would find it impossible i think or cost prohibitive to get any cover.:=

tell me what you had in mind so i can consider it further. PM me if you wish.:ok:

the dean.

xrayalpha
20th Nov 2006, 13:17
Hi,

In microlighting, we have had - on and off - a group policy for instructor's liability insurance through the BMAA.