PDA

View Full Version : ENGINE FAILURE at Takeoff

TopperHarley
15th Nov 2006, 09:04
Hi Guys - Just a quick query prompted by a discussion after a aircraft simulator excercise i recently completed (Im a pilot).....

I was dealing with an engine failure right at V1 - and shortly after takeoff (300 odd feet) told the tower..... "ENGINE FAILURE, COMPANY SPECIAL PROCEDURE - STANDY BY" as i was very busy flying the aeroplane and securing the engine etc. After I had the engine secured, i went ahead with more specific details......

How badly does a tower controller need to know if an aircraft is flying an "engine out procedure" (that may differ from SID) due to an emergency after takeoff ?? Is the aircrafts lack of performance obvious from the tower ?

Are you provided with/aware of any company special enging out tracking procedures ?

My theory is that you guys in the tower can work out what has gone wrong, and deal with it - as my priority getting the aeroplane away from the ground.

The checkie took a contrary position - suggesting that the tower would need to know exact tracking details ASAP so as to avoid us hitting another aircraft.

So whos right ?!?!?!

Cheers !

Conspiracy Theories
15th Nov 2006, 09:10
I'm not a controller although i think if you call that you have an engine failure, then its reasonable to assume that you will be busy. If you haven't declared a Mayday, then may ask the pilot and just get everything out of the way to assist the aircraft with an engine failure. I believe its recognised that the make of the aeroplane is known and that only one engine has failed for a 737 for example, an emergency is declared regardless since the aeroplane has lost 50% of its power supply. I think this is the general rule.
At the end of the day, the controller will be aware that you will be very busy and just try and get everything out of your way but he will need to know some details of the emergency to alert the appropriate services on the ground i would assume.