PDA

View Full Version : parking brake set?


suasdaguna
4th Nov 2006, 12:05
can you set the parking brake on an A320 in flight.....i say def not!!! is there a reference somewhere? regards

A4
4th Nov 2006, 12:25
Many Moons ago a directive was issued by Airbus expressly forbidding the setting the park brake inflight. This followed an incident when an aircraft landed and the brake was still set :eek: This has potential to wreck the noseleg due to the rapid derotation of the aircraft (cos the mains aren't turning...)

I don't know if the handle was in the "SET" position - but the parking brakes were! If it was a software issue, it's probably been sorted by now.

Safest bet is don't touch the PB handle in flight.

A4

hetfield
4th Nov 2006, 12:36
can you set the parking brake on an A320 in flight.....i say def not!!! is there a reference somewhere? regards


Yes but it doesn't help much.

suasdaguna
4th Nov 2006, 12:51
are you sure you can set the parking brake in flt?......i reckon not. Is there a definitive somewhere? there's a beer resting on this.

I same no and the air ground logic is king here.

Wodrick
4th Nov 2006, 13:58
From the system schematics there doesn't seem to be anything to prevent operation in flight.

Bearcat
4th Nov 2006, 15:22
i think the ? is expatula, if for some bizarre reason some numb nut set the parking brake which is only a switch on the airbus will the ecam give a warning to say such.

whereas the boeing and i speak only from 737 experience you have to press the toe brakes and then set the parking brakes.

i also would like to know considering the ? is asked, will you get a warning on the airbus if the park brake is inadvertantly set in flight?

Iceman49
4th Nov 2006, 15:44
The parking brake can definitely be set in flight...when the shuttle valve freezes you will have an interesting landing.

Iceman49
4th Nov 2006, 15:48
No you do not get a warning in flight...it would be very hard to inadvertantly set the brake in flight.

suasdaguna
4th Nov 2006, 17:32
damn....i lost a beer. It was an interesting bar stool question. And also I note no warning is given if some clown did set it. Thanks a million folks!

mitzy69
4th Nov 2006, 17:40
On the old VC10 the park brake could be set to park in flight, and then one day someone did and when it was landed it blew all 8 main wheel tyres.

hetfield
4th Nov 2006, 17:42
damn....i lost a beer. It was an interesting bar stool question. And also I note no warning is given if some clown did set it. Thanks a million folks!

Don't forget the ECAM.....

alexban
4th Nov 2006, 19:13
I've heard that it can also be set on the 737 ,and it won't be possible to set it off again.:ok: ..
I've heard one cpt did it,and it had to declare an emergency before landing,thinking that the tyres will blow at contact. To his luck,it seems that Boeing thought about such smart,playfull pilots,and the parking brake disabled itself at touchdown,normal braking after that.:hmm:
Expatula,why would you set parking brake inflight? Well,what if you have to wait at a crossings,for the train to pass? .We even shutdown the engines,it's standard SOP,just to save fuel..:E

hetfield
4th Nov 2006, 19:22
I've heard that it can also be set on the 737 ,and it won't be possible to set it off again.:ok: ..
I've heard one cpt did it,and it had to declare an emergency before landing,thinking that the tyres will blow at contact. To his luck,it seems that Boeing thought about such smart,playfull pilots,and the parking brake disabled itself at touchdown,normal braking after that.:hmm:
Expatula,why would you set parking brake inflight? Well,what if you have to wait at a crossings,for the train to pass? .We even shutdown the engines,it's standard SOP,just to save fuel..:E

Sachen gibt's...........

Capt. Inop
4th Nov 2006, 23:23
http://www.dauntless-soft.com/PRODUCTS/Freebies/USAirParkingBrake/checkride_dot_com_USAirParkingBrake_007.jpg.jpg
http://www.dauntless-soft.com/PRODUCTS/Freebies/USAirParkingBrake/checkride_dot_com_USAirParkingBrake_003.jpg.jpg
http://www.dauntless-soft.com/PRODUCTS/Freebies/USAirParkingBrake/checkride_dot_com_USAirParkingBrake_001.jpg.jpg :E

Milt
5th Nov 2006, 00:28
Watched a Victor land at Boscombe Down with the park brake set. All tyres shredded spectacularly.

The Victor gear was such a neat fit in the wells that there had to be a method of stopping wheel spin. To achieve this the designers fitted the park brake selector to cover the gear up selector forcing the crew to apply park brake before up selection. The ineviatble happened.

Doing a few touch and goes involving some braking before the go again on an 11,000 feet runway the pilot started the gear retraction sequence only to change his mind about the retraction having already applied the park brake. Result - lots of loss of face and rubber!!

Cannot recall how the problem was rectified.

expatula
5th Nov 2006, 03:54
Expatula,why would you set parking brake inflight? Well,what if you have to wait at a crossings,for the train to pass?

Now that's one damn good reason for setting the parking brake in flight. And don't forget to include in your landing checklist - "Landing No Blue and PARKING BRAKE SET." Happy landing! :}

expatula
5th Nov 2006, 06:04
We even shutdown the engines,it's standard SOP,just to save fuel..:E

Cool! And glide down onto the runway and land with your PARKING BRAKE set. That makes sense! :E :ugh:

alexban
6th Nov 2006, 08:08
You got it right.
And vapilot2004 :this can't happen in a 737,as I've said the parking brake will disable at touchdown.The plane in the picture is not a 737,it's a E170 (something missing on the tail picture,got it?..)
look here for more:
http://www.dauntless-soft.com/PRODUCTS/Freebies/USAirParkingBrake/
http://dauntless-soft.com/PRODUCTS/Freebies/USAirParkingBrake/checkride_dot_com_USAirParkingBrake_004.jpg.jpg

stator vane
6th Nov 2006, 09:04
that's one thing i will leave alone.

God, that must have been hard to deal with in the next job interview.

he/she probably became an FAA aviation safety inspector!!!!

John Holmes
7th Nov 2006, 05:46
The A320 Park Brake can definitely be selected ON during flight.

ECAM will display PARK BRAKE ON in red as a reminder that this is not a good configuration for landing.

The only real danger playing with Park Brake handle in flight is that after the selection of gear down the Park Brake Control Valve may be stuck in the open position or the handle may still be giving ON orders.....

On the ground I have personally experienced the A320 Park Brake Control Valve sticking in the OPEN position. It could only be released by a powerful blow with a wrench by engineering.

expatula
7th Nov 2006, 06:01
Of course it can be set "ON" in flight. And you will get an ECAM memo - PARKING BRAKE (in amber, not red)! This is just an advisory, not a warning. And also your triple Y indicator will show that it is pressurized.

Stuck_in_an_ATR
7th Nov 2006, 18:44
Heard of two such occurences - after the second one, "parking brake released" was reportedly added to the landing checklist :}

Blues&twos
7th Nov 2006, 19:34
Hopefully this link will work - the subject has already been discussed on "Rumours & News", try:

http://www.pprune.org/forums/showthread.php?t=240245&highlight=parking+brake

Apologies if I've misunderstood and this thread is a follow-on.....:ok:

A-3TWENTY
12th Nov 2006, 08:41
I think you are working something out to lose your job...

MrBernoulli
12th Nov 2006, 09:31
Mitzy69:

From your post at #10 - "On the old VC10 the park brake could be set to park in flight, and then one day someone did and when it was landed it blew all 8 main wheel tyres."

I guess you are talking about civilian operated VC10s. You might be interested to know that the VC10s that the RAF bought direct from Vickers in the early 60s had (and still have) a 'hold off valve' that prevented the bark prakes being set whilst airborne, even if the handle was set to park. You would probably have to land, set the brakes off and then reapply them to get them to work. Not that I recall anyone ever doing it but I believe the RAF requested the mod from Vickers to prevent accidents.


Milt:

From your post at #15 - "The Victor gear was such a neat fit in the wells that there had to be a method of stopping wheel spin. To achieve this the designers fitted the park brake selector to cover the gear up selector forcing the crew to apply park brake before up selection."

"Cannot recall how the problem was rectified."

Are you talking about the Victor B1 or B2? This certainly was not the case on the Victor K2. Brake selector and gear selector were no where near eachother so I guess a redesign was part of the fix? Good old fashioned RAF landing checklists TENDED to include a "Brakes off" somewhere in them.

Milt
12th Nov 2006, 12:04
Mitzy69

The Victor was the first to Boscombe Down. Expect the park brake/gear selector was soon rearranged after the multiple tyre changes. Cannot recall whether the rims suffered but expect so.

Probably the shortest Victor non-roll-out ever!

TP was Len Prudence. When he left BD at tour's end he and family flew civil into Europe somewhere. At destination he found his baggage contents missing and replaced with rocks.

Where are you now Len?

desyjean
12th Nov 2006, 13:07
Why not try this in the simulator? Get the answer once an for all. I am pretty sure the simulator will perform the same function as the actual aircraft.

FullWings
12th Nov 2006, 14:28
Reminds me of the old one about turning the 737 batt. master switch off in flight. Supposedly, nothing is meant to happen (inhibited) but did anyone ever try it for real?

Richallarton
2nd Oct 2007, 09:23
I worked on K2's for a number of years and the wheels were stopped rotating during the up selection by sending hydraulic pressure down the brake return line. This was all part of the up selection and required no further switch selections. (Seem to remember pressure remained to return line until down selected, which was a real pain for potential hyd leaks.)