PDA

View Full Version : De-Icing for light singles.

pumper_bob
23rd Oct 2006, 09:02
With the cold weather looming, i was wondering why a cheap, light weight de-icing system hasnt appeared on the extras list for light singles? Take the TB21 or the Saratoga for example. Very capable aircraft complete with airways nav avionics. Yet put a couple of clouds in the sky below freezing level and your grounded! So does anyone know why the manufacturers havnt developed a system for these aircraft? I am thinking in terms of an electric element fitted to the leading edge, similar to the windscreen defrost system on my car, which can clear solid ice in a matter of seconds in the morning and only has a 20 amp fuse, so cant be too power hungry can it? I am not an expert in these fields, so does any one know why pnuematic boots and alcohol systems seem to dominate the de-icing system of choice? I would have thought electric would have been lighter and more effective, obviously i am missing something?

S-Works
23rd Oct 2006, 09:28
I suspect it is more to do with making them "aviation grade" rather than anything else. I also suspect that it would require a lot more than 20amps to deice an airframe especically when can be looking at outside tems in the -40c region.

Despite a lack of icing systems there are not many days that actually cause icing problems. A guy in the US teaches the FA IR year round in a non iced single and has never had to cancel yet and his courses go al the way to alaska. a lot of the IR training organisations in the UK do not have de-ice. The twins I did my JAA IR in were de-iced and I never used them in anger. In fact I have only used the de-ice on the senecca once after spending an hour in the icing layer after not getting my filed level. I could have insisted on the climb or taken a descent but the ice was not bad and I wanted to test the systems.