PDA

View Full Version : ATCO 1st Interview - My Situation

rhino8
11th Oct 2006, 11:01
Ladies, Gents,

I received my 1st Interview invitation the other day, which I will be attending on 30th October.

Not getting ahead of myself but I wanted to explain my situation to see if there is anyone else on these boards who were/is in a similiar situation.

I am 25 years old, I have been working in the IT industry for the past 5 years, I am educated to HND level and have several professional IT qualifications. But I have very little interest in my career and have decided to do something about it before it is too late. On lookng at Careers I came to Air Traffic Control which I have always had an interest in, when I left school I was close to joining the RAF but decided instead to further my education. Then when I completed College I looked again at Air traffic Control, but for one reason or another I drifted into IT.

I have taken the plunge and applied to NATS. I am married and have a 7 month old daughter and the move to Bournemouth would be difficult for my family, I have already started saving (just in case) and my family is behind me and are excited about a possible prospect of moving down south for a while. I was hoping someone on these boards is or had been in the same situation. How did you cope financially? How did you cope with the move?

Anyway, I am looking forward to the 1st selection procedure, already on my fifth read through the material NATS have supplied, bought myself a couple of books on Air Traffic Control and thoroughly enjoying taking it all in, Will look forward to looking through all the help and advice I have already found on these forums.

Any insights would be much appreciated...

Cheers, Leeroy

roundthebend
11th Oct 2006, 20:07