PDA

View Full Version : VFR in Manchester CTR

arthurjfox
9th Oct 2006, 18:11
VFR in Manchester CTR

I am thinking about getting a PPL. I am lucky enough to own a few fields near to my home, so one of the attractions would be if I was able to fly occasionally from there. I appreciate that there will be many issues about the practicalities of farm-field flying, but for now my question is about the legalities and the ATC situation.

I live near Glossop, which is to the east of Manchester and inside the Manchester CTR, albeit near to its eastern edge. I have tried to research what the situation regarding flying in that area is likely to be, but as a beginner I am not confident that I have understood it all properly. So I am hoping that some kind souls here will be able to clarify a few things and correct me as necessary, or at least point me in the right direction. Thanks.

I believe that the Manchester CTR is class D airspace, up to 3500 feet. As I understand it, what this means is that VFR flight is permitted i.e. a basic PPL/microlight pilot can in theory fly here, but only with the permission of Manchester Airport ATC. Over 3500 feet, I believe it becomes the Manchester TMA, which is Class A airspace, so I understand that venturing up over that altitude will be a complete no-go area for a basic PPL.

Obviously I appreciate that Manchester airspace is very busy. So, my question is: practically speaking, what would be the likelihood of getting ATC permission for take-off and landing in the Glossop area? Are there factors which affect the likelihood of permission e.g. time of day or wind direction (i.e. which runway is in use at MAN)? I guess my desire would be to fly east, out of the CTR, where I believe the airspace is then uncontrolled up to 3000 feet, if that helps - although obviously I would then want to return to land at home at some time!

If this is just a pipe dream then I’d rather know now than later, which is the point of this post really.

Thanks again.