PDA

View Full Version : When Nature Calls??

tcr1016
4th Oct 2006, 23:58
I am new to flying and I have been wondering one thing, but tooo embarrassed to ask pilots in person. What do you do when nature calls when at you are at 10,000 feet in a Cessna 172? Especially when that bean burrito is not sitting well (I will not name restaurants :). I have not had this happen yet, but want to know what the pros do. Oh and I already know the pucker factor and praying, so any other situations (mishaps). Don't be shy.

Newbie pilot

Confabulous
5th Oct 2006, 00:13
The more logistically awkward call of nature could be a problem - but I didn't even know a 172 could get to 10,000ft without a JATO pack, so that's news to me.

I suggest holding it :}

tcr1016
5th Oct 2006, 00:21
10,000 was just a rough estimate. I have not been much higher than 5,000, but man or woman can only hold it for so long.

GotheriK
5th Oct 2006, 00:56
Now that I think about it, what COULD you do?

I've never had to use the restroom that badly in-flight, but what if, you know?

I guess if you couldn't land, use the sick-bag and old sectional charts, and pray you don't have the runs.:ouch:

jai6638
5th Oct 2006, 02:14
Good planning is part of the being a good pilot! Hence, one would hope that you do not eat stuff that would cause such probs ;)

I hope that never happens to me though.. It would really suck

soay
5th Oct 2006, 07:04
If it's only a number one, try these glider pilots' solutions:

http://soaring.aerobatics.ws/ART/pee.html

shortstripper
5th Oct 2006, 07:10
I'm sure there are better methods now (see previous post), but a tampon in a plastic bottle used to be used quite often ... as for the other, cross your legs but not the controls :E

SS

IO540
5th Oct 2006, 07:14
There is only one way to fly trips longer than one could drive in the same length of time: carry something you can wee into.