PDA

View Full Version : LHR CAT II/III holding points a question

Sean Dell
18th Sep 2006, 10:00
As a regular LHR operator, I wonder if someone might answer a question form me.

Why is it that on a non LVP day, a/c are instructed to hold short of the active at the CAT II/III holding points (particularly N1, and S3) despite the wig wags being illuminated at the CAT I holding points. This to me has runway occupancy implications and also can lead to some close calls (ie Go Arounds) from slow to cross a/c (or under Tow) who start from further back.

Probably a good answer out there - I just can't think of it though.

Cheers

SD

Gonzo
18th Sep 2006, 10:17
SRG guideline, supposedly to give us more time to spot a runway incursion.

Sean Dell
18th Sep 2006, 10:55
Cheers Gonzo

Never saw this promulgated (probably missed it!)

Gonzo
18th Sep 2006, 10:58
Neither have we, to my knowledge!

I think we consider it 'best pratcie'.

discountinvestigator
18th Sep 2006, 13:05
The definition of a holding point is only to protect the aircraft on approach from obstacles. This is then modified for navigation signal accuracy reasons to give us the CAT II and III locations.

The holding positions do not provide any level of runway incursion protection. Do the maths for a 75 metre visual departure holding position, with a 32.22 metre semi-span on centreline and taxi up to that at 15 knots (say 7 or 8 metres per second) and then you will find that the RIMCAS does not have time to detect and trigger long enough before impact.

The best practice is to ensure that the aircraft on the taxiway system is stopped prior to the clearance to use the runway by a departure or landing. I hear howls of "capacity". In fact, the appropriate procedure is to have a second hold a significant distance from the runway and if the taxiing aircraft busts this hold, then action can be taken for the aircraft on the runway or on approach to it, as well as for the offending aircraft on the ground.